My Own Worst Enemy

I think it was the ‘Lit’ song that said it’s no surprise to me I am my worst enemy and that is certainly true for most people that start working on something not sure the direction they are going in is the correct one. Recently, over the past few days I’ve been second guessing the reasons for doing this as it takes alot of time and sometimes I feel my time spent in front of the computer is taking away from time spent with others. Of course – it is, it has to be since I can’t be two places at once so the question I’ve been contemplating is whether or not it is all worth it. In the end and ultimately I think it is – some people enjoy reading a good book (as do I), watching crappy TV shows (guilty as well) or going out to a watering hole and having a couple cocktails (Been there done that all too often) however, of all those things (and others of course) there is really nothing that I enjoy more than taking and processing pictures. Maybe it is because I’m still a newbie and at the front end of a steep learning curve. I can click on hundreds of links and still learn hundreds of new things that I hopefully will apply the next time out – I’m like a sponge soaking up new information and I’ve really been enjoying it.

I read this blog post the other day on why we are our own worst enemy and ultimately decided to listen to point number two:

2. Listen to yourself. Be quiet. Be still. Listen to what you think about yourself.

I couldn’t agree more – this is the most important thing any of us can do – at the end of the day it’s all about what we think about ourselves that matters at the end of the day so we might as well do what we enjoy and as of right now this is what I’m enjoying.

Photo of the Day – Reflections


It rained all day in Rocky Mountain National Park – hard rain, thunder storms – but it was supposed to clear up by the end of the day so I decided to head into the park and find a place to hopefully take some sunset pictures. I put on my rain gear, parked the car and was started walking around looking for a spot that would work. During that walk I came across an area that was flooded and I thought it may possibly provide an area to capture a reflection. Ultimately, I kept moving and hopped back in the car to check out a few other areas but in the back of my mind I kept this spot as an option. The other spots I was looking at didn’t work as well as this one did so as the sun dipped in the sky I raced back to this spot but unfortunately missed some of the best colors. Another lesson to teach my self….be patient!

2 thoughts on “My Own Worst Enemy

  1. Oh, I looove this kind of posts, I feel like they talk to me. Thanks for the link and thanks for the advice, it makes me feel I’m not alone :).
    What a picture!!!
    PS: I’m sooo glad I get to see the pics in a larger size, I enjoy them waaay more.

Leave a Reply

