Surprising?

As a fan of the Detroit Lions I used to casually watch the NFL Draft – the Lions are always bad this I knew – my father always told me and I quote…’they suck, they will suck your whole lifetime and when you have kids they’ll suck through their lifetime’. All that changed for me this year. Yes, it was brief but it was glorious – we actually have a good team now! A feared offense led by the NFL’s best WR and a QB who was in his first full season became the fourth/fifth ever to pass for over 5,000 yards in a season. The Lions played the Saints and got shredded in the second half of their playoff game – the Saints marched up and down the field on them. We were a cornerback (or two) away from making a deeper run – here comes the draft! Time to address their need – I sat in front of the TV on Thursday watching the top secondary players come off the board – the Lions went Offensive Line – okay that’s fine protect a historically fragile player in Matt Stafford. Day 2 – Friday same thing I’m geeked up the draft is going great; a run on offensive lineman leaves the Lions with their choice of relatively high rated corners – who is it going to be I wonder…the pick is in! Barry Sanders steps up to make the pick…okay come one say it, say it….Barry announces the Lions select….Ryan Broyles, Wide Receiver, Oklahoma….ummmm what. To say I was shocked was an understatement – my wife (a Saints fan) had even put her Detroit Lions hat on and gave me her surprised face (like the eTrade baby)!

Okay this picture was from months ago but it looked like a surprised Lion the way she positioned her hands…I was real happy with the way it turned out. She hates that I put it on here but whatever – the next face will be the angry Lion!

Leave a comment