Vulnerable

I read an article this morning that really freaked me out about how vulnerable our online profiles/information are – its really scary just how easy it is to break in and hack someone’s account and do irreparable damage to their life without any real ramifications. It’s a long article written by a very respected tech analyst, Mat Honan at Wired. Apparently he was the target because they wanted to damage his twitter handle @mat because they didn’t like that it was three letters or something like that. Just shows how petty some people can be – it also shows how important it is to have a constant backup of all your information. Without it we are all VULNERABLE

Photo of the Day – Crazy Horse


I was on the phone today with a client and they were talking about their recent trip to Jackson Hole, Wyoming. Immediately all the thoughts of my first trip out west came rushing back – it’s been about seven years but I can still remember all of it. I had never been out to Wyoming/Montana/South Dakota. I had never really seen the mountains – I’d been to Arkansas and the Ozarks but nothing like Grand Teton or the beauty and wildlife in Yellowstone. A friend and I went out there for about two weeks we flew into Montana and flew out of Rapid City. One of the highlights of that trip was the Crazy Horse Memorial. It was just being built in the Black Hills of South Dakota. This memorial was started in the 1940s and as you can see it clearly wasn’t built yet. The statue in front of me that I am taking the picture through is a replica version of it. The model version was maybe four or five feet – not very large so you can imagine just how big the actual version is. Looking it up on Wikipedia the size of the face is set to be 87 feet high – the heads on Mt. Rushmore are only 60 feet high – so it’s a very tall task. The project is not sponsored by the government – rather it was started by a sculptor who received a letter from one of the Lakota tribe chiefs asking for him to do it. It became his life’s work and he died trying to accomplish it. His wife and children have now taken up the project but it is still a privately funded operation.

I hope it is completed in my lifetime and I hope I make it back out to Yellowstone in my lifetime – or at least before the massive Yellowstone super-volcano ends life as we know it.

This was shot with a Canon Powershot – 3-4 megapixels (which at the time was huge!) – I bought a couple extenders for the trip (telephoto and wide-angle) but I don’t think I was using them for this. It was an amazing sight and one of my most memorable days there.

Leave a Reply

