Every Second Counts

I read this quote earlier and it almost made me speechless – this captures my feelings on the subject perfectly:

“Hell is when we look back during that fraction of a second [at the end of life] and know that we wasted an opportunity to dignify the miracle of life. Paradise is being able to say at that moment: I made some mistakes but I wasn’t a coward. I lived my life and did what I had to do.”

Wow…it’s from the book “Aleph” by Paulo Coelho. I strive every day to ensure I don’t wind up facing the abyss wondering ‘what if’ or ‘why not’ – make every second count.

Photo of the Day – Early Morning Light on Bear Lake


I spent the earliest part of the sunrise on the other side of the lake catching the sun come up over the trees but ultimately made my way to this spot to catch some of the first rays landing on one of the peaks of the Rocky Mountains. I made every second count that day – early morning, late night and another early morning the next day. I’ll sleep when I’m dead.

2 thoughts on “Every Second Counts

Leave a Reply

