La Pieta

Well not the actual Pieta that I learned about in art class – that is in St. Peter’s in Vatican City and we were there a few years before this past trip to Paris. Unfortunately I wasn’t into photography at that point so I wasn’t snapping as many pictures then.

Photo of the Day – Notre Dame Pieta


This version of La Pieta is in Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris France. It is near the back of the church and is a real marvel. Notre Dame doesn’t permit tripods and the lighting is bad so I had to crank up the ISO on the camera which made the shot a bit noisy. I used Topaz DeNoise to remove most of it and after putting a vignette around the outside I was pleased with how it turned out. I’m heading to Notre Dame again tomorrow – not the one in Paris – the one in South Bend to watch their football game on Saturday. My family planned this trip before the season started and they were ranked in the top five. We got pretty lucky with a good game and also the weather which is supposed to be 50 degrees. You can’t ask for much better than that in the middle of November in the Midwest!

4 thoughts on “La Pieta

  1. Not a church visitor – not even on holiday – but I love this photo – beautiful. Think I only been into 3 church during all my travel. Berlin, Biarritz and Eze-Village. You have caught the light so beautifully.

    • I love churches – especially those in Europe. There is something about the history and the undying faith that you have to have to start a project like Notre Dame Cathedral which took almost two hundred years to complete back in the 1100s. Knowing you were starting a project that your great, great grandkids may still be working on during their lifetimes is an amazing leap of faith. Most of these buildings remain fairly well intact even after wars since I believe most armies worldwide even during the world wars had enough respect (fear of God maybe?) to leave them alone when they could. I’m sure most were damaged in major war areas but not completely destroyed on purpose by opposing forces.

      • I do admire the buildings – beautiful, but it isn’t the churches that have built the society and what we have today, they just sit on their wealth and always have. And all the people that die under the labor of a church like Norte Dame during those 200 years and I wonder if anyone have counted them and kept a record of them. Still I don’t say that I see something wrong in visiting and or admire them – that down to everyone. I wasn’t true about not visiting churches … was in St Peters Church in Rome, an only because the rain was lashing down. There I saw a priest taken a confession with the door slightly open and he was doing crosswords during the confession. Seeing that made me sick to the bone.

      • I do admire the buildings – beautiful, but it isn’t the churches that have built the society and what we have today, they just sit on their wealth and always have. And all the people that die under the labor of a church like Norte Dame during those 200 years and I wonder if anyone have counted them and kept a record of them. Still I don’t say that I see something wrong in visiting and or admire them – that down to everyone. I wasn’t true about not visiting churches … was in St Peters Church in Rome, an only because the rain was lashing down. There I saw a priest taken a confession with the door slightly open and he was doing crosswords during the confession. Seeing that made me sick to the bone.

        I think that even in a war there is a great respect what the churches stand for, at least during the two WW and before that – I think today is it another view on things – it seems to be no respect for other religions than our own – “the power” murder people that escape to their church for protection and it seems to happen all over the world those day. Terrible. Even if I’m not a believer as such – do I have great respect for all religions and there is nothing wrong or right when it’s about our believes. There is a place for us all and we should respect that, but reality is says something else.

        This was a hot subject for me … *smile

Leave a Reply

