Standing in the Shadows of Greatness – Our Four Fathers

I first discovered my nomad gene in the summer of 2006. I was 26 years old and while I had picked up and moved to Chicago on a whim following college I still had done very little traveling outside of the Dearborn Heights, Michigan area. That all changed when I took a two week trip to Yellowstone, the Grand Tetons, the Badlands and Mount Rushmore. I went with one of my best friends and we spent those two weeks hiking, drinking whiskey and just getting away from it all. I was still early in my career but I was at a point where the hours were piling up and I had aspirations of making millions by the age of 30. I may have done it if not for that trip. Until that trip I had no idea what the world had to offer, but in those two weeks my life was forever changed. I’ll never again be driven solely by money (it’s still a driver, just not the biggest) because as life is about so much more. When we lie in our graves we won’t be wishing for more money but we will be wishing for more experiences. Money is just the tool to make those experiences happen.

Photo of the Day – Ominous Wisdom


During that trip out west one of the most memorable moments was walking around Mount Rushmore National Park. It wasn’t one specific moment when the lightbulb went off in my head but it was a collection of moments during that trip that I still remember vividly.

Leave a Reply

