Canada’s Best Drive and some Car Camping along the way

The wheels are in motion for my trip to Banff in mid-March. We are trying to narrow some dates down to go see a new client and I’m going to try and take a few days off afterwards to take one of the top five drives in the world – Banff National Park to Jasper National Park in Alberta, Canada. It still seems to be expensive for hotels up that way so and along the drive so I’ll try to do some car camping along the way to save some money. I’m planning to try some night photography as well so getting a hotel to sleep for three or four hours doesn’t make a lot of sense anyways so instead I’ll get the sleeping bag out of storage and get cozy in the passenger seat. 2013 is the year of doing what it takes so I’m going to get out there and get shooting no matter how difficult the conditions. Anyone know of any cheap places to stay along the Banff to Jasper drive? How about any secret photo spots to check out?

Photo of the Day – US Rockies


This was from the tail end of a long day in Denver – I think it was August and there was still some frost on the ground in the ‘high country’ of the US Rockies but for the most part the snow was frozen. Rains earlier in the day caused this puddle to form on the east side of a valley. I tried to take advantage of the clouds across the valley by picking up some reflections in the front of the pond. Unfortunately, I couldn’t pick up any of the mountain reflection.

I also shouldn’t minimize the fact that I’ll be back out in Rocky Mountain National Park in mid-February. It’s quickly becoming one of my favorite places in the world and it’s made all the better by the fact that one of my clients likes to get out of the office the day after the meeting to show me some of his favorite, less traveled trails…clients in cool places. Life is good.

4 thoughts on “Canada’s Best Drive and some Car Camping along the way

      • I hope so – I was hoping I’d be able to get out and hike around Lake Moraine but it looks like that road stays closed for awhile into mid-May sometimes. Unfortunately, when I told my cousins (who go there every few years) they said hiking there wasn’t even an option because it is a pretty high avalanche area. I’ll just have to come back in a few years in summer.

Leave a Reply

