Don’t be Boring!

“All God does is watch us and kill us when we get boring. We must never, ever be boring.”

― Chuck Palahniuk, Invisible Monsters

I started reading another book on the plane ride back from Dallas this morning and came across this quote. While I certainly don’t think it is ‘true’ in an actual sense I do think it is true in the sense that if we stop doing things that excite and intrigue us we might as well be dead. If we are not experiencing new things and consistently challenging ourselves mentally then a little piece of us dies – that piece that daydreamed as a child about what could be – all the great experiences in life that were possible. To me being ‘boring’ is having to do the same thing over and over again – even if you work on an assembly line or something where the job is repetitive it doesn’t mean you have to do the same thing day-over-day. Don’t get stuck in a rut, keep evolving and keep living.

Photo of the Day – St. James Church, Seattle Washington

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
The interior of the St. James Church drew my eye right away – the exterior of the church while large wasn’t as pristine as the inside. Luckily, I did some pre-scouting before I went out there and I knew the interior was pretty cool looking. On a cold, wet rainy day it beat sitting in my hotel wishing the weather would change.

3 thoughts on “Don’t be Boring!

    • Thanks alot – I love taking photos of churches but always feel like I’m violating someone’s privacy and am being rude. I hate when photographers are too pushy so I try to make sure I’m always respectful and will sit and wait for a good amount of time until I think people aren’t deep in prayer or thought. I tried to lineup dead center on the holy water and was also trying to catch a reflection in the water but don’t think I got the camera positioned high enough.

Leave a Reply

