Tips for a Successful (work) Road Trip

A few brief trip tips for those individuals who like me spend a lot of time traveling for work and for pleasure. When preparing for a work trip I make sure to the do the following:

1) To the greatest extent possible make sure to plan well in advance for the travel – not always easy but try to block a day off before or after the trip. Yes, I know some companies frown upon PTO but maybe you are (like me) an anxious traveler and you don’t want to leave it to chance and fly in the day of a meeting so you prefer to fly in the night before. Perhaps you fly in the afternoon before and do some sight seeing while there. The work will still be there when you get back to the office.

2) Along that same point – do as much work as you can in the days/weeks before so that you can spend some guilt free time sight seeing. Look, we all have alot of work to do. It isn’t going to go away even if you finish all of it while on your trip because as we all know more will show up. Therefore, finish what you can before the trip. While in Chicago my normal workday is 9 AM – 7 PM. I don’t have to stay until 7 most days but I do because it helps to tie up that annoying, tedious work or ‘long’ term projects that keep getting put off. Spending those extra two hours while I’m in the office allows me the ability/flexibility to have a little ‘me’ time while traveling and not waste away in my hotel room watching ‘Storage War’ re-runs (not that I’m doing that while typing this post).

Photo of the Day – La Jolla

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
Last Tuesday I was in bright, sunny California in shorts and a t-shirt. Today I was walking around Calgary in my heaviest winter coat freezing. All-in-all I wouldn’t trade it for the world though. Life is pretty good.

This was the closest I got to a sunset shot in La Jolla – the ‘cloud’ in the upper right hand corner is actually a giant cloud of fog. Within thirty seconds it had reached the palm tree on the upper left hand side of the picture and proceeded to just keep rolling into the image. It ruined my planned shots but I wound up with some other interesting/moody compositions that I’ll post at a later date.

2 thoughts on “Tips for a Successful (work) Road Trip

Leave a Reply

