Airport Delays and Praying the Rain Stops so we can fly to Italy

We are off to Venice, Italy via Dusseldorf, Germany and it is storming out by O’Hare. We are hoping to leave on time but if not we hope to just make our connector in Germany. Knowing that this was a possibility when we booked the flight we wound up giving ourselves a five-hour window. That time will quickly tick away but we are holding out hope that we make it today. What else can you do but sit at the airport bar and have some drinks, watch movies and let it be….

“You must learn to let go. Release the stress. You were never in control anyway.”

― Steve Maraboli, Life, the Truth, and Being Free

I’m learning to let go but it’s still an issue.

Photo of the Day – The Organ in The Basilica of Saint Mary

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
I posted last week about the impressive cathedral in St. Paul, Minnesota but Minneapolis was not to be out done as they have a very impressive church as well. The Basilica of St. Mary is located right downtown in Minneapolis – a little walk from my hotel but on the way to Sculpture Garden which is where I stumbled upon it. It was closed in the morning but I knew I had to come back and give it look as the outside was beautiful.

The inside of The Basilica of Saint Mary did not disappoint either. Unfortunately, there was a funeral that was about to start in the nave of the church so I spent the majority of time in the back – behind the alter – where I was hidden from those attending the funeral. My shutter on the camera was silenced so attendees were not, or at least I hope they weren’t, aware of my presence as I’d never want to impose or disrespect such an emotional event.

This was the organ and choir area where the choir sits during Sunday service. The organ was beautiful and for some reasons staring up at it reminded me of the ‘Iron Throne’ from the Game of Thrones. Due to the darkeness of the church I took five exposures (-4 to +4) and blended them together in Photoshop.

2 thoughts on “Airport Delays and Praying the Rain Stops so we can fly to Italy

  1. I hope of all my heart that you’re on your way now …. even if there is pleasant things to kill time with, it’s the destination that is where you really want to be. *smile

    • We made it into Venice on time with a little weariness from lack of sleep. We powered through it and got to bed early though. Now it’s 4 AM and I’m wide awake though :/. Luckily I don’t need too much sleep to keep it going.

Leave a Reply

