Unfilled Dreams

“Cemeteries are full of unfulfilled dreams… countless echoes of ‘could have’ and ‘should have’… countless books unwritten… countless songs unsung… I want to live my life in such a way that when my body is laid to rest, it will be a well needed rest from a life well lived, a song well sung, a book well written, opportunities well explored, and a love well expressed.

– Steve Maraboli

Photo of the Day – The Rows of Arlington National Cemetery

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
Last year we spent some time in Washington DC and walked through Arlington National Cemetery. We watched the changing of the guard at the tomb of the Unknown Soldier and were overwhelmed with the amount of tombstones throughout the military cemetery. To think about all of the unfulfilled dreams in that cemetery – those that died too young and sacrificed their life so that people like I can sit here and chase my dream without worrying about anything getting in my way. We are all very thankful for those that have served.

4 thoughts on “Unfilled Dreams

  1. Totally agree with you … all the dreams that never came through. I visit the Normandy American Cemetery and Memorial – rows and rows of white crosses … so sad. When will we ever learn. Lovely post.

  2. Great post. WWII was hard to all who participated in it. In Finland we have memorials in every village and they are well kept. I have never visited Arlington National Cemetery, but I believe that it is unique.

    If You do not mind, I show here my post from our memorials:

    Memorials.

    Happy Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

