The Most Beautiful Place on Earth

While on our Italian Vacation we spent two nights in the Cinque Terre on Italy’s western coast. ‘The Five Lands’ is composed of five villages: Monterosso al Mare (pictured in today’s image), Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola, and Riomaggiore. Over the centuries, residents have carefully built terraces on the rugged, steep landscape right up to the cliffs that overlook the sea. There is little (if any) corporate development and paths, trains and boats connect the villages. I may be wrong but I don’t believe a car can drive into the village but rather it must come via boat as no roads connect to the villages.

Each of the five towns is incredibly beautiful – we stayed in Monterosso al Mare at Le Giare Bed and Breakfast. The B&B was great and located on the side of a very steep hill with a nice view overlooking Monterosso. There is a lovely patio with a citrus garden off the entrance to the small house with two rooms. Frederica and her family run the B&B, live in the house adjacent to the guesthouse on the property and her father is a cab driver in town – this is very handy since he will be waiting for you at the train station (assuming you tell them the time you are arriving) to drive you up to the B&B. Initially, I didn’t think we’d need the ride but once I saw how steep the hill was I was extremely happy to have it. The rooms are spacious and the free breakfast in the morning was a nice touch and something you don’t often get when traveling in Italy. Outside of the great hotel the food here was spectacular – most restaurants serve fresh seafood directly from that day’s catch. I even tried (and thoroughly enjoyed) fresh anchovies.

Photo of the Day – Monterosso at Sunset

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
We watched the sunset along the coast on our first night in Cinque Terre. As the lights from the village turned on and the clouds lit up behind the mountain the scene became very postcard like. I hope that everyone reading this will have a chance to visit someday – it is so picturesque and a photographers dream. The scenery is awe inspiring, the people are so amazing and the food (and wine) is unbelievable.

17 thoughts on “The Most Beautiful Place on Earth

    • It definitely helps with the relaxation (the wine is nice too). I hope you get there someday and get to see everything first hand as I’m sure the pictures don’t do it the justice that seeing it first hand does.

  1. Fantastic photo … the colors are so intense – and ocean takes such a big space of the photo and then I saw the small colorful house of the village, checked out the B&B too – truly pretty. Awesome photo, we all have our places on Earth …

    • Thank you Kathy – have fun in Cinque Terre. It is such an amazing place. If you stop in Verranza please make sure to eat at a restaurant called the Belforte. It is in a tower overlooking the ocean and we had the best meal of our two week Italian vacation there. The pasta, the wine, the views all came together to make it our favorite! I had the tagliatelle pasta with shrimp and zucchini. They put a hint of cumin in the sauce and on the shrimp which put it right over the top – best of all they brought the hot pan to the table and poured right onto your plate just so you knew that it was fresh.

    • It is beautiful and I hope you have a chance to get there someday. If I had to pick a place in Italy to go back to I would do Cinque Terre, Florence and Rome. Not to say that Venice and Milan weren’t great in there own ways but if time is an issue then those would be the cities I’d hit.

      • Glad to hear it. Florence was a big hit for me and I wasn’t expecting it. Rome will always be one of my favorite places. Venice was the opposite of Florence in that I think my expectations were so high that it ultimately couldn’t live up to the romanticized vision I created in my head. All amazing, amazing places though and I hope to be back to them all someday.

  2. Pingback: Mussolini’s Masterpiece | The (Semi-Regular) Roaming Lama

Leave a Reply

