Imagine

Imagine there is a bank account that credits your account each morning with $86,400. It carries over no balance from day to day. Every evening the bank deletes whatever part of the balance you failed to use during the day. What would you do? Draw out every cent, of course? Each of us has such a bank. It’s name is TIME. Every morning, it credits you with 86,400 seconds. Every night it writes off as lost, whatever of this you have failed to invest to a good purpose. It carries over no balance. It allows no over draft. Each day it opens a new account for you. Each night it burns the remains of the day. If you fail to use the day’s deposits, the loss is yours. There is no drawing against tomorrow. You must live in the present on today’s deposits. Invest it so as to get from it the utmost in health, happiness and success! The clock is running!! Make the most of today.



– Unknown Author

I stole the above quote from Erika who has been one of my biggest supporters of this site since I started posting pictures a little over a year ago. In that time she has been through some tremendous ups and downs and she continues to go about her life in such a positive and inspirational fashion as she recovers from bulimia. I found the quote to be thought provoking and as I read it being the finance guy and every thrifty saver it dawned on me that it is such a completely appropriate analogy with life. We are given a gift each and everyday yet many of us wast it focusing on the negatives or putting things off until tomorrow. Unfortunately, the time we waste is never given back to us – it is a finite resource and we all must strive to enjoy the ever precious seconds of each and every day.

Photo of the Day – The Emptiness

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
This sculpture sits outside of the newly built Bow building in Calgary. The sculpture has three different ‘faces’ to it depending on the angle and the light that you view it at. It is like that illusion picture of the old and young lady in one that I’m sure we’ve all seen in the past. It is a really cool piece of art and if you are ever in Calgary make sure to go and check it out.

6 thoughts on “Imagine

  1. Hi, I love the quote, it made me pause and think of time in a whole new way, rather than something that slips by each day. Some days seemingly out of our control the day is gone. wow, I am going to spend some time of that one as I walk to work. the photo is great, I haven’t had a chance to see the scuplure, but I am intrigued, and will try to get down there to see if I can see the three faces. thanks for waking up my brain and my imagination today.

    • Thank you – it intrigued me as well. I never would have noticed the three faces if the security guard didn’t tell me where to stand to see them. They are much easier to see in the evenings when the sculpture is lit up though. During the day I found it hard because all of the other buildings in the background were so distracting.

Leave a Reply

