Window to the World

We were in the Grand Canyon and spent some time at the Desert View Watchtower. The Watchtower stands at the eastern end of the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. Standing at 70 feet, with a 30-foot base, the tower is unique in having a concrete foundation and a steel framework well hidden in the stones of the tower. The ground level of the tower is a large, round observation room with a spectacular view of the Grand Canyon. Upstairs the Hopi Room presents paintings by Hopi artist Fred Kabotie, who took the room’s theme from the Hopi Snake Dance. An outdoor observation deck is directly above the observation room.

I took this picture from one of the observation rooms through a window. I had to hold my camera steady and bump up the ISO level to get the outline of the external tower window opening and the canyon and clouds in the distance all in focus. I really liked how the view point framed the Canyon in the distance. The bonus was that it was a rather stormy sky – it rained later in the day – so that added some intensity to the shot that a clear blue sky would have missed.

Photo of the Day – Window to the Grand Canyon

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

I’m off to Denver for meetings over the next couple of days and then will be spending some time in my favorite national park – Rocky Mountain National Park. It has such a diverse beauty and I’m really looking forward to some of the hikes I have planned. The weather looks good so I’m going to get up at 3:00 AM on Friday and hike up to Dream Lake for sunrise. The last time I did this the lake was completely frozen over but I expect some of the ice to be melted now and I’m hoping I can pick up some reflections of Hallett Peak in the water. I love the picture I took last year but really hope that I get a shot with the water still and a nice reflection prevalent.

Leave a Reply

