Pace of Life

I continue to try and slow life down to appreciate the little moments that we have throughout a day that make life really worth living. These moments can be masked out by the daily grind of alarm clocks, traffic, work, traffic….etc. but it is imperative to try and slow down and really focus on the moments that matter. I may have posted this in the past but I think it is relevant to how I feel today as well.

“In magic – and in life – there is only the present moment, the now. You can’t measure time the way you measure the distance between two points. ‘Time’ doesn’t pass. We human beings have enormous difficulty in focusing on the present; we’re always thinking about what we did, about how we could have done it better, about the consequences of our actions, and about why we didn’t act as we should have. Or else we think about the future, about what we’re going to do tomorrow, what precautions we should take, what dangers await us around the next corner, how to avoid what we don’t want and how to get what we have always dreamed of.”

― Paulo Coelho, Aleph

It’s natural I think to spend time focusing on the past and the future but like the quote says I find I (and probably we) need to slow things down and spend time in the now. Recognizing the gifts of what I have around me rather than what gifts I’m going to attain later. As my father (thankfully) recovers in a hospital I do spend time thinking about the past and the nights we’ve spent together going to hockey and baseball games, playing catch in the backyard or just sitting around cards and having a drink. I realize my anger the other night was misplaced because the past is what it is and there is nothing we can do now to change it. What needs to change now is the future and I hope he pays heed to warnings and exercises precaution so as to avoid the ultimate punishment that awaits around the corner.

Photo of the Day – Life’s a Blur

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
In Rome, the Colosseum was under some major renovation (I guess when you are nearing 2000 years in age it is okay to get an occasional facelift) so getting ‘good’ unobstructed shots without tarps announcing the expected completion date was a challenge. Therefore, in the pictures I took it is mainly the details of the building that you could actually see without being distracted by the mess around it. In this picture, I liked how the locals were just zooming by and paying no attention to the magnificent structure just off the road from them. I’m sure we do the same thing in Chicago since I can’t tell you the last time I went up into the Sears Tower building or spent time exploring one of our world renowned museums. It is hard to appreciate the things that you have in your back yard since we always dream of things that are far away.

Leave a Reply

