The Mummy Range (Rocky Mountain National Park)

“After all, a vacation is not a matter of place or time. We can take a wonderful vacation in spirit, even though we are obliged to stay at home, if we will only drop our burdens from our minds for a while. But no amount of travel will give us rest and recreation if we carry our work and worries with us.”

– Laura Ingalls Wilder, essay September 1919

Photo of the Day – River through RMNP

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
Near the Sheep Lake trailhead in Rocky Mountain National Park Old Fall River Road crosses a bridge that goes over The Roaring River. The Roaring River creates a nice leading line into the Mummy Range of mountains in the distance. I’ve driven by this area a number of times but never noticed it. This time I was forced to stop though in a gawkers delay as the meadow (just out of frame to the left of this picture) was filled with elk and thus a line of cars was stopped taking pictures of them. As I sat in my car waiting for an opportunity to go around them I noticed this view. Seeing as I had time I got out of my car set up my camera and took a few pictures before heading back to my hotel for the night.

2 thoughts on “The Mummy Range (Rocky Mountain National Park)

  1. When we were traveling through Utah, Arizona, and, later, Colorado, I noticed my senses dulled somewhat–there is just so much natural beauty there, you simply stop seeing it or only vaguely note the broad brushstrokes of it all, with little memory of the particulars. Glad you got this unexpected stop. It is a view I could savor for a while.

    • You are so right – the west just has so much beauty. I haven’t been fortunate enough to go to Utah but definitely want to after seeing such amazing photographs of that landscape. It’s been years since I’ve been to Wyoming but they advertise it constantly here in Chicago on the TV and billboards so my heart has been yearning to head back to Yellowstone, Grand Tetons and possibly even Glacier.

Leave a Reply

