Heading back to the West Coast

I’ll be off in California at the end of the week for work. I don’t think I’ll have the chance to drive over to Joshua Tree National Park again anytime soon (want to make a trip to Death Valley though) but I do have quite a few images from my last trip that I haven’t had a chance to get to.

Over the weekend I was going through some old photos and found this shot from last October when I stayed the night near Joshua Tree and did some hiking around the park. A beautiful place with a lot of interesting rock formations (and of course the ‘trees’ from which the park gets its name).

Photo of the Day – Joshua Tree Sunset

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
I took this shot slightly before sunset the night that I was there. The sun was setting behind me at this point but the colors away from the sunset in the sky were actually much better than those of the sunset itself. It doesn’t happen often but it always pays to take a look behind you (or left or right or down) to make sure you aren’t missing something when you are so clearly focused on the scene in front of you.

Leave a Reply

