Supermoon Sunset

We had some rain in the afternoon yesterday which almost caused me to sit at home and not go downtown to take pictures of the super moon yesterday evening. After some back and forth my wife convinced me that the rain was going to get out of the area before the moon rise so I hopped on my bike and headed towards the Adler Planetarium. It remained grey and overcast for most of the time but shortly before 8 the skies seemed to clear a bit behind the Sears Tower and some colors started to come through. I took plenty of shots as the city lights turned on against the orange and purple of the skies behind them. From where I was standing the sun was setting directly behind the Sears Tower so you can see a little burst of color right off the right hand side of the building.

Photo of the Day – Sunset Behind the Sears

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
I rode my bike around to the other side of the lakefront (almost directly in front of the Sears Tower) to get some pictures of the Super Moon coming up over the Adler Planetarium. I got a couple of good shots but haven’t had a chance to process the photos yet. In a few days when work slows a bit I’ll try to work on those and get them up here.

Leave a Reply

