Step into a Dream

This morning on my way to work I was reading through some news on Twitter when I came across a Tweet from Buster Olney that made me think:

150 years ago at this moment, Robert E. Lee plans to attack the center of the Union line — which is where George Meade expects him to hit.

Now there isn’t anything necessarily earth shattering with this comment of course, but the concept of 150 years doesn’t seem so long but to think about how much different the world is today versus 1863. So much has changed in such a little amount of time. It just struck me as being pretty amazing that holy cow we as humans have come so far in the past decade and a half. Amazing! Don’t wake me up if I’m dreaming!

Photo of the Day – Stepping into a Dream

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
A short boat ride away from Cinque Terre is a small, seaside town named Portovenere. While Portovenere isn’t actually part of the Cinque Terre it is a stop on the ferry ride that takes you from one end of the Cinque Terre to the other. In the town of Portovenere there is a castle called the Doria Castle that you can walk up to and walk around. We got there too late to go inside but we were still able to walk around the grounds. One of the gates was open that led out to the cliffs that dropped off into the sea. Another set of rocks led into the distance and I thought it made an interesting composition. It seemed very dreamy to me like you could step through the door and enter into a different world, filled with water and mystery.

I’m heading downtown to take pictures of the Chicago fireworks this evening. I hope everyone has a nice holiday!

One thought on “Step into a Dream

  1. I was in Chicago last year … and the fireworks so weak – I was expected that everywhere in the US fireworks should be out of this world.
    Love your photo, but I like when photos gives a view of inside out or outside in.
    Have a fantastic Independence Day and I hope the fireworks will be worth to put the camera against.
    I was standing up on Wacker’s Drive, the best spot in town … great for taking photos and not that many people.

Leave a Reply

