Fire in the Sky

Last week while in Rocky Mountain National Park I witnessed one of the most beautiful sunsets that I’ve ever seen in my life. It was a cold, rainy night and I wasn’t sure that anything was actually going to happen. I had a hope that the sun would drop below the rain clouds but I never imagined the clouds were going to light up like they did. I’m not sure the picture does it justice because the clouds everywhere in the sky were lit up with shades of blue, pink and orange. As far as the eye could see the sky was seemingly on fire.

Photo of the Day – Fire in the Sky

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
My wife was in a different location trying to shield herself from the sun and the rain but as soon as the sun dropped below the clouds and the sky lit up (for only about two or three minutes) she was sprinting down the road yelling at me to make sure that I was taking lots of pictures of the sky. She agreed that it was one of the more memorable sunsets of her life. That is what keeps all of us landscape photographer’s going though….chasing the light and being in the perfect location to capture light like this high above a historic peak or prominent landmark.

Leave a Reply

