Jefferson Memorial

Over the right shoulder of this memorial the panel reads:

We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain inalienable rights, among these are life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness, that to secure these rights governments are instituted among men. We…solemnly publish and declare, that these colonies are and of right ought to be free and independent states…And for the support of this declaration, with a firm reliance on the protection of divine providence, we mutually pledge our lives, our fortunes, and our sacred honour.

– Declaration of Independence

I’ve been catching up on some DVR over the weekend and one of the things I recorded back at the beginning of summer was the HBO mini-series – John Adams – which really brings the birth of the nation alive. The mini-series was originally shown back in 2008/2009 but I didn’t have HBO at that time so the re-airing of the series was something that I was happy to see (I’d prefer to watch on my TV then on HBOGo on my laptop and haven’t set up the streaming options yet).

Photo of the Day – Jefferson Memorial

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
I also started reading the Lost Symbol by Dan Brown this morning – which is apparently set in Washington DC (yes, I’m apparently taking a step back to 2009 as this was also released then) – so I felt it was appropriate to post a picture from our trip to DC about a year ago.

Leave a Reply

