A Damn Shame

Today someone, somewhere undoubtedly planned a trip out to one of our nations wonderful national parks. They may get a vacation once a year – maybe they’ve saved for this trip for a couple of years and finally had a chance to go – only when they show up at the park they see a sign…..’CLOSED due to the Government Shutdown’.

A few weeks ago I had a business trip up in Calgary and spent the weekend before in Glacier National Park. I planned this trip months in advance and I would have been furious if the timing of this embarrassing shutdown would have kept me from experiencing what I had set my whole trip around. I’m reminded of a quote from one of my favorite movies – Wallstreet (the original – not that embarrassing ‘part two’ with Shia Lebouf)…

America, America has become a second-rate power. Its trade deficit and its fiscal deficit are at nightmare proportions. Now, in the days of the free market when our country was a top industrial power, there was accountability to the stockholder

There is no accountability anymore – these senators, representatives, etc… are all still being paid their salaries. They are still living their lives as if nothing is impacting them. They act like spoiled children and the people who suffer are the everyday citizens.

Photo of the Day – Sunrise over Two Medicine Lake in Glacier National Park

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
The rain came in about fifteen seconds after this shot – my next photo has rain drops over the lens so bad I had to delete it. I wound up taking a few more pictures this morning that I like but this one had the best color (probably from the whole trip) but the color was short lived. Still I almost didn’t even make the 90 minute drive to this location because it had rained so much the day/night before. Luckily I fought my urge to go back to sleep when the alarm went off at 4 AM.

7 thoughts on “A Damn Shame

Leave a Reply

