Seattle Skyline

I was in Seattle for a layover during my trip back from Glacier National Park. The layover was around six hours long – rather than hang out at the airport I decided to take the train downtown. There were a couple of reasons this made sense to me – the weather looked nice (80 degrees or so I think) and the food in/around Pike Place is delicious. My favorite place serves, primarily, clam chowder (I think it is called the Chowder House) and I had a cup of the best clam chowder I’ve ever had. They really do a phenomenal job. After the chowder “appetizer” I walked over to a nearby vendor and picked up a deliciously filling mushroom and steak pastry (called a Proshky) from a (relativel) hole in the wall – Piroshky, Piroshky, Piroshky – that is right outside of Pike market.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
One more day in Philly then back to Chicago. Looking forward to being away for a few days.

3 thoughts on “Seattle Skyline

  1. Seattle, one of my playgrounds for nearly a year …. fantastic fun city and I love the skyline of it – totally different to Chicago’s, but one of the best – fantastic shot this … I miss Mount Rainier in the background. *smile … only joking.

    • I wish Mount Rainier was there as well! One day I’m going to get to Seattle when the conditions are perfect and I can capture the beauty in the background. You lived there for almost a year? Everything there is so nice – although the falls/winters – when the skies go grey for six months at a time are the payment for the beauty experienced in spring and summer. A meager penance I would think.

      • No I lived in Victoria, Vancouver Island, but I worked aboard our ferries – training staff … and every evening both vessels tided up in Seattle.
        It gives you a good excuse to go back to Seattle for that ultimate shot. I like Seattle more than San Francisco., brilliant city .. it rains a lot, but I was never bothered by it. *smile

Leave a Reply

