American Southwest

I was in Colorado this week for work and spent an afternoon at the Garden of the Gods State Park. It isn’t nearly as large as Rocky Mountain State Park but there are plenty of hiking trails and views to keep you occupied for an afternoon. I’m not sure you’d want to visit for multiple days but for a few hours I found myself plenty entertained. The views are fantastic and really the just doing the drive around the park will give you plenty of different perspectives on these rock formations just jutting out of a relatively flat area of land. You don’t see this sort of stuff in the Midwest – our area is pretty flat. We are (relatively) immune from earthquakes, hurricanes, typhoons, etc… although as I’m sure many have seen in the news during the past week we do have our fair share of tornadoes which can get nasty.

Photo of the Day – The Gods in the Garden

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
This is the first real view point when you drive into the park. You go around a few curves, pass the main parking lot and then see this from the first turnout. I think it is the best view of the rock formations in the entire park. In other locations all of these varying rocks get jumbled together and you can’t really see that they are separated from one another. I took this about an hour before sunset – unfortunately, as has seemed to be the case recently I was snakebiten with the weather and didn’t get much color in the sky. I was going to wake up early the next morning to re-shoot some of these angles but a last minute conference call came up that forced me to be at my hotel shortly after sunrise. Still I liked the texture of the clouds in the sky even if the colors weren’t great which is why I decided to put a little faded action on it.

4 thoughts on “American Southwest

    • I certainly would – its just a quick drive from Denver (90 minutes or so) and probably on the way to skiing, snowboarding down in the more central part of Colorado. Although in the winter – like when I visited last year around this same time – the red rocks can be completely draped in snow so the feeling of being here is slightly different.

    • Agreed – the red rocks were very familiar with those in Sedona. I rock formations here though are much more sporadic than in Sedona though since everything is (relatively for Colorado) flat until you come upon a few red rocks jutting violently from the ground.

Leave a Reply

