Now that’s a Church!

Taking over five hundred years to build the Duomo in Milan (Milan Cathedral) is one of the most impressive buildings I’ve ever been in. If you’ve been on this site enough you’d get the sense that I love church interiors and I could have spent all day inside this place taking pictures of it. The great thing about it is that they actually allow it. As long as you pay the photography fee of five Euros they didn’t seem to mind all of my HDRing that at points took two or three minutes for each set of shots given how dark the interior was. Of course I didn’t try to take out my travel tripod but I did have the camera setup on a greenpod and also a GorillaPod but as long as I had my bracelet on showing I made my donation they weren’t opposed to me firing away.

Photo of the Day – Interior of Il Duomo – Milan, Italy

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
The interior of the Milan Cathedral is expansive and their are fifty-two very large pillars (one for each week) supporting the massive ceiling above. Also notable in this picture is the red dot above the altar in the distance. This is the spot where (supposedly) one of the nails from Jesus crucifixion was placed when they were building it. Many Catholics make the pilgrimage to this church just to see this nail.

9 thoughts on “Now that’s a Church!

Leave a Reply

