Spanish Steps, Rome Italy

The widest staircase in Italy sits in the heart of Rome and connects two main plazas leading up to a beautiful church at the very top. The Spanish Steps as they are known were built in the early 1700s and include 135 stairs – they were recently featured on one of G and I’s favorite shows (The Amazing Race – if we ever went on there we’d probably kill each other though).

This is one of my favorite spots in all of Rome to sit at night, people watch and drink (discretely) a beer or some wine before heading off for dinner and gelato. The crowds certainly never disappoint and because there are so many stairs and they are so wide there are always ample places to sit and relax away from others.

Spanish Steps, Rome Italy

Spanish Steps Rome Italy
To take this picture I set my camera and tripod up and waited for the sun to set so I could catch the twilight taking over the square. I took five exposures (-4, -2, 0, +2, +4) so that I could blend them all later in Photoshop. Generally, I only take three exposures (-2, 0, +2) but I did not want the street lights in this picture to blow everything out in the -2 exposure so I went a little darker to make sure I captured the purple hues of the sky.

I posted a picture earlier of the Spanish Steps from the base of the staircase that I took as we walked to dinner. That one had the “Fountain of the Ugly Boat” in the foreground whereas this picture has that fountain in the distance but you can see the swarms of tourists around it as night settles in. Clearly, as you can see on the right hand side there is always a large police presence in the area as it does serve as a major intersection of the city. Despite this there are still a number of pick-pockets who work the area so if you are ever around there just be mindful of your surroundings. An alert tourist generally is a safe tourist.

4 thoughts on “Spanish Steps, Rome Italy

  1. I love this shot. The HDR really pulls out the details and I love how vibrant the colors are. I’ve taken very similar shots of these steps but never tried HDR with them. Very nice work!!

    • Thanks! I generally try to HDR everything – not necessarily because I’ll use it but just in case I need it when I get home I want to make sure I have all the information. Given the changing light and the textures of the wall that I wanted to bring out I was glad that I had it available because who knows when we’ll get the chance to go back. Hopefully soon but you never know.

Leave a Reply

