Storm over Death Valley

In early January I spent a few days hiking and photographing Death Valley National Park. Death Valley was one of those places that always seemed so remote when I was younger so I was pretty surprised when I realized that it was only four hours from LA and sixty miles from Las Vegas. However, despite the proximity to those locales I had the park almost to myself during the weekend that I was visiting. I did run into a few other photographers but for the most part it was just me, my camera and surprisingly a winter coat for when the temps quickly dropped as the sunset in the afternoons.

I took this photo about an hour before sunset as a storm brewed over the mountains in the distance. Using a zoom lens I zoomed in on the mountain compressing the scene and making it appear like it is relatively close when in all actuality it was several miles away. My favorite part of the scene was how the top of the mountain was still catching the light of the sun while the rest of the mountain was shaded by the intense clouds overhead. I also liked how the saltflats were pulling upward as if being lifted by winds above.

Storm over the Saltflats – Death Valley National Park, California

Storm over the Saltflats - Death Valley National Park, California

4 thoughts on “Storm over Death Valley

Leave a Reply

