The shores of Monterosso – Cinque Terre, Italy

One of the most beautiful places I’ve ever visited is Cinque Terre, Italy. Cinque Terre is located on the Northeast coast of Italy. In the summer, it is jam packed with tourists but since my wife and I travel ‘off-cycle’ to save money we were there in the month of April right before it got too crazy. I’m not sure I would have enjoyed the enchanting sites of Cinque Terre nearly as much if it was as overcrowded as say Venice. The fact that it seemed to be more of the ‘old’ Italy unspoiled and uncatered to tourists like us was appreciated.

<Coast of Cinque Terre

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

We hiked up to this little overlook to watch the sunset over the city before retreating for dinner at Cantina Di Miky. Cantina di Miky is run by the son of the fanciest place in town – Ristorante di Miky – both are very good but this one was more within our budget. I was able to sample fresh sardines (ehhh…just as bad as canned) before turning over to the main course – homemade pasta with a nice pesto sauce. I think this was the only time in Italy we had white wine since it was a wine local to the region. I forget the name of it (we have a bottle at home but I’m in Dallas) but recall it was a little sweeter than I like generally but since it was local I figured I had to give it a go.

One thought on “The shores of Monterosso – Cinque Terre, Italy

Leave a Reply

