Rocky Mountain Winters

Unfortunately, it may be awhile before I’m back to Rocky Mountain National Park. I’ve been very fortunate over the past few years to go there a handful times as one of my clients is located 90 minutes south of the park. Unfortunately, that client was acquired by a larger company and thus will be going away soon. While we haven’t officially been told that our services will no longer be needed I’ve unofficially heard from a few other folks that work with the larger company that January 1, 2015 will be the integration date of the plans.

This year I was planning to spend a weekend in the Rockies in February but unfortunately that flight was cancelled because of poor weather and I never made it out there. My most recent trip in mid-May was also cancelled because of poor weather leaving me only one last fall weekend in October/November to take in the beautiful sites of one of America’s best national parks.

Rocky Mountain Winter

Rocky Mountain National Park Winter Mills Lake

I took this photo last year when I was snowshoeing in Rocky Mountain National Park with one of my clients. He has a house in Estes Park right outside RMNP and spends alot of his winter and summer weekends enjoying the outdoors. Every time I visit I get so jealous of the surrounding area and the beauty that is everywhere you turn. I believe we were trying to snowshoe to Black Lake but had to turn around half way through because the snow was just too deep and we kept falling through to our waist. On the way back we skimmed over Mills Lake and I took this picture of the peaks ahead that make up the Glacier Gorge. I’ll miss my quarterly trips out to Denver. Hopefully, I’ll have a chance to get back there annually at the very least to re-visit what quickly became one of my favorite spots to visit.

3 thoughts on “Rocky Mountain Winters

  1. Love how the warmth of the sun burns away the cold blue in the image, kind of making it an vignette. Never been to the rocky mountain national park, another place to add to my bucket list.

    • It’s a place I’ve grown so fond of over the years. It will be depressing to not have the chance to get out there every couple months. My work travel spoiled me!

Leave a Reply

