Big Horn Sheep – Rocky Mountain National Park

Last August when I had my meeting in Denver my wife and I spent an extra couple of days in Rocky Mountain National Park. I usually go once every three months but because of flight cancellations I haven’t made the past three meetings. This week I have a meeting out there on Friday and I’m planning to stay through the weekend and get a few nice hikes in. This will be a pre-cursor to our BIG trip at the end of this month to Alaska. I’ve started to plan that one out to and I think we are going to have an opportunity to explore some ice caves, kayak and hopefully spot some wildlife (Bald Eagles, Whales, Sea Lions, Bears) up close and personal!

Big Horn Sheep – Rocky Mountain National Park

Big Horn Sheep - Rocky Mountain National Park

Wildlife sightings in Rocky Mountain National Park are fairly common and in the summer you can see big horn sheep near the side of the road grazing on the summer grasses. There were around twenty sheep up on this ridge on this afternoon but I got as close as comfortable to this guy who was pretty relaxed and was able to isolate him and cut the others out. They are so used to people that he didn’t move until I got about 50 feet away and then his head turned towards me and he started to watch me a little closer.

6 thoughts on “Big Horn Sheep – Rocky Mountain National Park

    • Thanks! This is a great time to visit. Have you been there before? Let me know if you need a few tips on hiking/photography locations and I’ll put a post together. One of my friends in Estes is planning on taking me on a few long/difficult hikes this weekend.

Leave a Reply

