Serenity in Yoho National Park

I’m not trying to be overly religious here on this blog – those who know me know that I’m spiritual but not really religious. However, during challenging times when the situation arises I do find myself taking comfort in spiritual words that apply no matter what (if any) deity you believe in. Today I turn to the Serenity Prayer to give me strength as I deal with issues that are beyond my control.

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
Taking, as He did, this sinful world
as it is, not as I would have it;
Trusting that He will make all things right
if I surrender to His Will;
That I may be reasonably happy in this life
and supremely happy with Him
Forever in the next.

Serenity in Yoho National Park

Takakkaw Falls in Yoho National Park

The Takakkaw Falls in Yoho National Park are the third highest waterfall in Canada standing at nearly 1,300 feet. The word ‘Takakkaw’ translates to ‘it is magnificent’ in the local Indian Cree language and it certainly is while you are there witnessing and listening to the sounds of the falls. It is a place I discovered on my last trip to Banff and I’ll certainly go back when given the opportunity to find serenity.

4 thoughts on “Serenity in Yoho National Park

  1. Beautiful picture!! Seems like you were there fairly late in the season? I am used to seeing the waterfall bigger and I can see some of the green have turned yellow/orange:) Nice.

    • You are spot on – I was there pretty late in the season. It was early September but there was already a pretty big snow. Unfortunately, though I was maybe two or three days early for the trees to change color and give me that ‘wow’ color. Maybe next year.

Leave a Reply

