Griffith Observatory at Sunset (Los Angeles, California)

A few weeks back I hiked up above the Griffith Observatory to catch the fading light on downtown Los Angeles with the observatory featured in the photo. I was out there for a business trip and was wearing nice jeans and loafers. I didn’t think the hike would be as challenging as it was – and probably shouldn’t have been – but in my inappropriate attire it was a real pain in the @ss! However, I am pleased with the results and ruining a halfway decent pair of shoes was worth it.

Griffith Observatory at Sunset (Los Angeles, California)

Griffith Observatory at Sunset - Los Angeles, California

A friend of mine at work was out riding his bike and came across this quote nailed to a tree in the park. He took a photo of it and sent it to me. A really touching gesture and one I appreciated. While I may be scarred and down-trodden now I know the pain will subside eventually. The pain will never not be there – and that’s okay – but I’ll learn to carry on as we all do when we lose someone close to us. We have to for the others who continue to carry on with us.

“The reality is you will grieve forever. You will not ‘get over’ the loss of a loved one; you will learn to live with it. You will heal and you will rebuild yourself around the loss you have suffered. You will be whole again but you will never be the same again. Nor should you be the same nor should you want to.”

— Elizabeth Kubler-Ross


3 thoughts on “Griffith Observatory at Sunset (Los Angeles, California)

    • This got caught up in the spam filter so pardon my delayed response. It really is for the most part but there are pockets of tranquility where they haven’t spoiled the landscape. Small pockets (relatively) but pockets that provide nice views of the downtown area. Of course, with traffic it takes two hours to go 10 miles so it’s more a concrete prison than a concrete jungle.

      • I like the idea that I got caught in a spam filter, maybe I hit some keywords and phrases in the spam algorithm. I would love to go to this area of California to visit LA and the desert areas just outside. This is where some of my favorite rock music comes from.

Leave a Reply

