Mount Rundle at Sunrise (Banff National Park)

I awoke around 5:30 and headed out to Vermilion Lakes in Banff National Park to catch the sunrise over Mount Rundle. It’s my favorite place to get sunrise pictures in the whole park but I’ve still yet to catch that ‘dream’ sunrise where the clouds light up and provide that amazing backdrop. The sunrise on this day was supposed to be around 7:12 AM but the clouds blocked most of the action. I was about to pack up and head back to the car when I saw another angle that I thought might work for a good reflection shot. In my head I was thinking I could process it in black and white and maybe the clouds in the background would add some texture and interest to the image. Fortunately, for me a little line of pink started to creep into the bottom of the clouds so I zoomed in tight and filled the frame with the mountain and mirrored reflection in the lake. Since this was September the trees had also started to turn color so that provided a bit of interest in the middle of the shot as well.

Mount Rundle at Sunrise (Banff National Park)

Mount Rundle at Sunrise (Banff National Park)

“[F]or just one second, look at your life and see how perfect it is. Stop looking for the next secret door that is going to lead you to your real life. Stop waiting. This is it: there’s nothing else. It’s here, and you’d better decide to enjoy it or you’re going to be miserable wherever you go, for the rest of your life, forever.”

― Lev Grossman, The Magicians

8 thoughts on “Mount Rundle at Sunrise (Banff National Park)

  1. I never get tired of this view. We go to Banff all the time, but I love Mt Rundle and Vermillion Lake. Stunning picture! I always plan on getting a sunrise picture from Vermillion, but every time the alarm bell rings in the middle of the night I am like ‘ahhh..next time’. Good job!

    • It’s my real go-to while there. I’m hoping to make it out there this summer – maybe I’ll take a drive up to Jasper National Park this time through rather than just staying in Banff. What are your thoughts on Jasper?

Leave a Reply

