Notre Dame Cathedral (Paris, France)

I wanted to title this post “Perfectly Imperfect” because when I look at it that’s what I think of due to the warped nature of the church given the angle I was shooting at. This has the look of a fisheye lens but it is made with a standard wide angle lens – however, given the angle I was standing at I wasn’t able to get the whole church in the frame without trying to get creative. Thus, I thought ‘vertorama’ time – similar to a panorama which stitches together shots across a horizon this is an attempt to stitch shots in a vertical manor. Often used when there isn’t room to fit a whole monument in the frame for whatever reason (other building is too close, too many people in the way, etc…) it is a technique that I learned a read about a few years back but never really had a need to try. So, while in front of one of the world’s most iconic churches I figured what the hell and I gave it a shot. It isn’t perfect but for some reason I like it – this is the shrunken version of it so if you zoom in you can’t see all the immaculate details you can in the larger version (it seems pixelated in this version) but I really couldn’t upload the original file because it is HUGE so I had to shrink it just to make it not crash your computer when you tried to look at it.

Notre Dame Cathedral Vertorama (Paris, France)

Notre Dame Cathedral (Paris, France)

4 thoughts on “Notre Dame Cathedral (Paris, France)

Leave a Reply

