Clouds over the Grand Canyon (Grand Canyon National Park)

During our trip to the Grand Canyon we were treated to some pretty crazy weather but with that weather came epic clouds which made shooting during the day interesting as well. Normally, I avoid shooting landscapes during the day but when the clouds are big and puffy like this you can fire away all day long.

Clouds over the Grand Canyon (Grand Canyon National Park)

Clouds over the Grand Canyon (Grand Canyon National Park)

This was the first picture I shot when we entered the park. Initially we just did the drive around the South Rim taking in the different vantage points but on the way back I got out and shot a few pictures before we checked in to the hotel and went back out for sunset pictures.

The Grand Canyon in this picture looks stunning and sharp – the edges of the photo are a little blurry but I’ll chalk that up to the lens/camera body I was using at the time which isn’t as sharp as my setup today. However, the main focal point (the canyon itself) with the shadows from the clouds passing over is stunning (in my humble opinion). One of my favorite shots from the trip but it took me almost three years to process it!

3 thoughts on “Clouds over the Grand Canyon (Grand Canyon National Park)

Leave a Reply

