Sunset over the Mummy Range (Rocky Mountain National Park)

During my last trip (and possible last trip for quite some time) to Rocky Mountain National Park in February I hiked up to the top of a hill over looking Trail Ridge Road which gave me tremendous views of the Continental Divide and the Mummy Range. For awhile it didn’t seem like the sunset was going to give me too much to work with but then all of a sudden the sky lit up and it was as bright as it was during the day. The colors all around the valley and over tops of the mountains was out of this world. I snapped shots for what felt like ten minutes before the color subsided.

Sunset over the Mummy Range (Rocky Mountain National Park)

Sunset over the Mummy Range (Rocky Mountain National Park)

The Mummy Range is a (relatively) short range – around 13,000 feet – in Rocky Mountain National Park that is aptly named because if you look at it just right you can sort of see the face of a mummy laying on his back in the shape of the peaks. I never really noticed the shape of it until someone pointed it out to me but now when I look at it I see it plainly – it’s all in the imagination.

5 thoughts on “Sunset over the Mummy Range (Rocky Mountain National Park)

  1. Beautiful image and nice to see since I moved to Colorado from the east coast this month. I am living in the San Juan region but hope to visit Rocky Mountain National Park and the Continental Divide in the not to distant future!

Leave a Reply

