Evening on the Icefields Parkway (Banff National Park)

Driving along one of the most picturesque roads in the world, the Icefields Parkway, it is easy to get distracted by the scenery that abounds. The speed limit on the Icefields Parkway is slower than on the major highway and for whatever reason it is much less traveled so it is the perfect road to sight see between Banff National Park and Jasper National Park. Earlier in the day I passed over a bridge and noticed a river that led towards a mountain in the distance. I marked the area in my mind and returned for some shots before sunset when the light was softer and I could keep the shutter open long enough to capture the silky look in the water.

Evening on the Icefields Parkway (Banff National Park)

Evening on the Icefields Parkway (Banff National Park)

I hiked about a half mile up the river until I reached this spot and set my camera up for a few shots. The composition seemed to work in this image – but I took about 20 others. What I like about the composition here is that the rocks are in the immediate foreground (lower left corner) and the river leads the eye from those rocks back towards the mountain and then it seemingly disappears into the base of it. The mountain has a nice triangular shape and leads the eye towards the clouds hovering above it.

4 thoughts on “Evening on the Icefields Parkway (Banff National Park)

  1. Your photos are always stunning and an inspiration. I finally played with a couple of neutral density filters and long exposure while at Starved Rock SP (Ottawa, IL). All I can say is I have a lot more practicing to do πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

