Sunset from Camelback Mountain (Phoenix, Arizona)

A few years back before heading out to Grand Canyon National Park for a few days I went hiking up on Camelback Mountain in Phoenix, Arizona. It was a nice hike – although HOT – and more challenging than I expected given it was a local hike right outside of the city. Maybe it was because I wasn’t in solid shape because I’m a city guy but man it was harder than I expected – the elevation change, the heat, etc… I felt silly that locals were jogging up it like it was nothing but I eventually made it up to the top where I ate a protein bar, drank some water and watched the sunset over the city of Phoenix. It was a nice view from up there and well worth the hike but just be warned if you aren’t from there – the hike is no joke and will kick your ass if you aren’t prepared.

Sunset from Camelback Mountain

Sunset from Camelback Mountain (Phoenix, Arizona)

I’ve been a little preoccupied lately between moving and a new role at work so posting is a little sporadic over the past few weeks. However, I hope to catch up this weekend and be back to semi-normal by next week. Thanks for hanging in there with me.

8 thoughts on “Sunset from Camelback Mountain (Phoenix, Arizona)

  1. Great view and nice shot. I haven’t attempted this trail because I’m always concerned about potential parking issues. That heat will get you especially if you’re not used to it.

Leave a Reply

