An Angel in New Orleans

It was a rough weekend for me as I dealt with a slew of emotions that I knew were coming but had no idea how to deal with. My father would have turned 61 years old this weekend. He passed recently though after a battle with cancer and he was my best friend so it was a really tough thing to not talk to him or see him on his birthday for the first time in 35 years. They say it gets easier and I sure hope that it does.

I hate death, but at the same time I am fascinated by it. I fear funerals, yet I enjoy going to cemeteries and looking at the headstones. In New Orleans, they have some of the most unique cemeteries in the country so I like to take a tour around some of the cemeteries when time permits if I’m visiting the city. Walking around a cemetery in Metarie (outside of New Orleans) I saw this weathered angel statue and was drawn to it. The peacefulness of the expression on her face was intriguing and I spent a few minutes looking at it and taking different compositions.

Angel (New Orleans, Louisiana)

Angel (New Orleans, Louisiana)

Last summer I started reading a book by Randy Pausch – a professor who, dying from cancer, gave a speech about life/death that turned into a Youtube video and other media appearances and then ultimately a book. I thought it would help me understand what my father was dealing with but I was unable to finish it. I picked it up today as I straightened out my office and flipped to this quote…It really is the most important thing.

“The key question to keep asking is, Are you spending your time on the right things? Because time is all you have. ”

― Randy Pausch, The Last Lecture

One thought on “An Angel in New Orleans

Leave a Reply

