Notre Dame on the Seine (Paris, France)

We are heading back from Cape Coral today to the frigid temperatures of Chicago. I’ll be back in Florida next week for work and then off to California the following week for the same reason so at least I’ll get a bit of a reprieve from the single digit temperatures that seem to be lingering now that winter has finally reared his ugly head. Hopefully, I’ll be able to sneak off to a few other warm weather destinations in February to break up the monotony a bit.

Notre Dame on the Seine (Paris, France)

Notre Dame on the Seine (Paris, France)

We walked along the Seine River one night after drinking far too much wine at dinner. I didn’t have my tripod so I had to balance the camera on the bridge wall as we crossed. The lights were bright and the church was less so as it was under construction on the backside of it. In photoshop I brought the colors down quite a bit with a black and white filter with around 25% transparency.

Notre Dame Interior (Paris, France)

Notre Dame Cathedral - The Arched Roof (Paris, France)

Getting any sort of ‘clean’ shot within Notre Dame is next to impossible as it is dimly lit and often swimming with tourists. I found the best time to arrive (as with most destinations) is first thing in the morning when it first opens. As a result, I found myself in the church at 7 AM twice during our stay in Paris. I did take some pictures, but mainly I enjoyed the silence that you don’t get where there are hundreds of people around. It still is an active church and so at this time in the morning there were many locals who dropped by before work to pray so I didn’t want to be utterly disrespectful with the click, click, click of my shutter. The shot below was taken by setting the camera on the floor with the lens pointed straight up. In post processing I worked to straighten it a bit since it is hard to judge that while being unable to see what the camera is looking at (since the LCD and eyecup are sitting flush with the ground).

4 thoughts on “Notre Dame on the Seine (Paris, France)

Leave a Reply

