Cheetah’s at Sunset (Phinda Game Reserve, South African Safari)

During our trip to South Africa I rented a lens from Borrowlenses.com in order to bring the ‘action’ closer to me. The lens I rented was the new Tamron 150mm – 600mm and it certainly did the trick as I found myself able to zoom in tight and bring the animals right to me. For example, in this image the cheetah’s were probably 20 or 25 feet from our safari vehicle but because I had the long lens I was able to zoom in tight and frame this shot perfectly so that this guy and his brother were both in the shot as the sunset over the horizon. I intentionally let the light leak into the frame as I wanted the image to be warm and for the sunset ‘feel’ to be established without actually bringing in the sky. I did have to wait several minutes with the camera up to my eye for the cheetah in the front to do anything interesting but finally he looked towards us and yawned – clearly he was ready for us to move on as well.

Cheetah’s at Sunset (Phinda Game Reserve, South African Safari)

Cheetah's at Sunset (Phinda Game Reserve, South Africa)

One thought on “Cheetah’s at Sunset (Phinda Game Reserve, South African Safari)

  1. Your photos are STUNNING. And I don’t mean only this post, I mean all of them. I always marvel at your posts, it doesn’t happen to see such a continuous streak of great-quality images. As an aside, I didn’t know a website to borrow lenses existed, how does it work? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

